Surviving In This Very Moment…

My Personal Battle with Prostate Cancer … And Life!

Solitude: The Irreplaceable “I”

Emmanuel Levinas’s ethics creates an impossible condition, that of being present for the other; of being responsible for the other person without reservation or expectation.  Fundamentally, the self is irreplaceable in the sense that absolutely no other person can substitute for the self to act upon this sole responsibility.  In a social world, this responsibility can only be performed by the self, the irreplaceable “I.”  Along with this astonishing responsibility comes the solitude of responsibility.  There are no rules to follow, no guidelines, no legalities, just the terrifying knowledge that the “I” is irreplaceable.  Contained in this idea of responsibility is the very notion that one truly is one’s brothers keeper.

But, there are moments in one’s life where the outward looking self is required to turn inward, to look for strength within because one faces adversity that is overwhelming.  Protecting interiority is, during these moments, more important than the exteriority of the other.  Moments like the death of a loved one, the loss of a child, the breakup of a long-term relationship all cause one to turn inward in order to deal with the emotional pain involved with the experience.  These moments are generally short-lived but purposeful in their ability to cleanse the self and to return to a normal (whatever that is) life.

Having a diagnosis of prostate cancer is, it seems, one of those moments.  Unlike the death of another, facing one’s own mortality requires one to dig down deeply into one’s own interiority to find the strength to fight.  It is an interesting place to be, focused on myself and my determination to fight this disease.  On the surface, everything appears to be unchanged.  I am still spending time with friends, reading the books I love, thinking about the ethical applied to education and making future plans.  But that is the face I present to the world.  The face I present to myself is quite different.  It is dogged by the constant knowledge that I have cancer, that my mother died from ovarian cancer, that my father survived lung cancer only to die from what the doctors thought was an after effect of the radiation he received fighting his cancer, that my paternal grandmother died from an unnamed abdominal cancer when I was fourteen (my first encounter of the death of a loved one).  As I sit and wait for a more detailed diagnosis so that treatment can begin, I realize that only I can participate in fighting my very own cancer.  No other person can replace me as I hunker down to focus my strength on the battle to come.

Sure, I will have a team of doctors focused on state of the art treatments, nurses that focus their partial attention on me, a wife whom I love but who likes to hover, children and grandchildren who will not learn of my struggles unless they come upon this blog, and friends who will show concern.  But in the end, none of them can substitute for me.  I fight this disease alone, in solitude, while surrounded by friends and family.  The solitude comes from this irreplaceability; it is nothing, however, if not a place to find and develop the strength to face the absolute unknown with dignity and deference.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Solitude: The Irreplaceable “I”

  1. Pingback: Thinking About the Other (Person) « Surviving In This Very Moment…

Please Join the Conversation:

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

celebratequotes

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

sanslartigue

The silent camera

alesiablogs

A Blog About Ordinary Life Told In Extraordinary Fashion!

biljanazovkic

the beauty of words and colors

who is the God of heaven ? the jesus I never knew.

life is not a rehersal,so live it...if you cant be the poet, be the poem.

Hebrew Hutong

(Almost) Jewish in Beijing and California

NIKOtheOrb

A weirdo unleashed. . .riding the spiral to the end.

Screwy Lew's Views

An egotistical flight of fancy into the random ramblings of a semi-demented mind.

Rabbi Danny Burkeman Online

An English Rabbi in New York

Gooseyanne's Blog

The everday ramblings of Anne and her Goose

Exploring Torah and Genetics

A college student's exploration of the interplay between genetics and Torah.

FEC-THis

Life after a tango with death & its best friend cancer

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

