Surviving In This Very Moment…

My Personal Battle with Prostate Cancer … And Life!

What I am Grateful For

While waiting around for testing and results, for biopsy results and more, I decided to make a list of all those things I am grateful for rather than dwell on desired results.  I thought I’d share the list here and now…

  1. My wife, a true partner and friend…
  2. My cancer because it allows me to put important things in perspective…
  3. My kids who, like most kids, drive me nuts but so what…
  4. My grandchildren who fill my heart with joy…
  5. Parents, gone but did their very best to mold me into the man I am today…
  6. Family…
  7. Friends…
  8. Books that transport me to places unknown…
  9. Health, pretty good except for that cancer thing…
  10. Questions that drive my thinking and keep me sharp…
  11. Starbucks, I love coffee especially a quad over ice in a venti cup…
  12. Dave, my physical therapist who forces me to perform beyond my own expectations…
  13. Dogs, especially my two, Mazel and Simin both of whom make me laugh constantly…
  14. Music, mostly any kind but especially alternative country and classical music…
  15. Art, mostly photography but visual art of any kind that makes me think or respond…
  16. Poker, I just love to play and I am pretty good at it so there…
  17. Theater, (the arts again) especially Shakespeare but more than that because a good play transports me to anywhere where I am not and pushes me intellectually and emotionally…
  18. Movies for the same reason…
  19. Good eats: Food is so sensual and satisfying…
  20. Traveling, both at home and abroad allowing me to embrace differences and reflect on my own place in this world…
  21. Anything that makes me laugh, great comics provide us with the satire that uncovers truth…
  22. The Chicago Cubs because they always provide me with something unbelievable to hope for…
  23. Ice hockey, the second greatest game played in the world only one level below baseball…
  24. What I don’t know in order to stoke the curiosity of new ideas…

While I don’t think this is an all inclusive list of the things for which I am grateful, it is a start.  It doesn’t contain one wish (unless you consider the Cubs winning the World Series in my lifetime as a wish).  I am grateful for the things I have and not the things I wish I had.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “What I am Grateful For

  1. Reblogged this on Surviving In This Very Moment… and commented:

    At the very beginning of this year I think it is appropriate to re-post this gratitude list. It helps keep me focused as I approach the day ahead.

    While I am not waiting around for test results today, I am waiting around for side-effects to diminish and even go away. It is always appropriate to think in terms of gratitude for the things that are most important.

Please Join the Conversation:

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

celebratequotes

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

sanslartigue

The silent camera

alesiablogs

A Blog About Ordinary Life Told In Extraordinary Fashion!

biljanazovkic

the beauty of words and colors

who is the God of heaven ? the jesus I never knew.

life is not a rehersal,so live it...if you cant be the poet, be the poem.

Hebrew Hutong

(Almost) Jewish in Beijing and California

NIKOtheOrb

A weirdo unleashed. . .riding the spiral to the end.

Screwy Lew's Views

An egotistical flight of fancy into the random ramblings of a semi-demented mind.

Rabbi Danny Burkeman Online

An English Rabbi in New York

Gooseyanne's Blog

The everday ramblings of Anne and her Goose

Exploring Torah and Genetics

A college student's exploration of the interplay between genetics and Torah.

FEC-THis

Life after a tango with death & its best friend cancer

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

