Surviving In This Very Moment…

My Personal Battle with Prostate Cancer … And Life!

Two Days Without a Watch and I Barely Miss It

clock tower

clock tower (Photo credit: Mouse)

In my last post I wrote about deciding to discard my watch to help remind me to live in this very moment; to experience life as it presents itself to me.  After a day and a half of not wearing my watch I find that I barely miss it.  First, I am surrounded by timepieces.  There is a clock displayed on the dashboard of my car, on my smart phone, in almost every place I visit.  Clocks are ubiquitous!  Even listening to the radio in my car I am reminded of the time with great frequency.  I even find myself looking to my wrist from force of habit to check the time but this very act provides me with the reminder for which I discarded the watch in the first instance.  I am reminded that I am here and now in the moment; a stream of time flooded by traces of past moments and of moments yet to come.

On the same topic but a different thread, I want to share a dream I had last night.  I was in the hospital, the first day after my upcoming prostate surgery.  Several weird things were happening.  First, and quite appropriate to the theme of the prior paragraph, somehow my iPhone disappeared from the night stand.  It should have been in the cradle set on the night display showing the time.  There was a huge clock, nearly floor to ceiling, directly across from my bed.  At the foot of the bed my little dog, Mazel, was sleeping at my feet.  There were a few other things going as well, but unrelated to time so I’ll pass over them for the moment.  As I thought about this strange dream I concluded that Mazel was the only critter in the room who absolutely lives in the moment.  Time means nothing to him.  Food, water, getting his ears rubbed, running out in the yard are his concerns and in no particular order.  The missing iPhone and the over-sized clock were reminders of that which I seek to rid myself; being tied to the clock as a measure of my life.

It is difficult to not think in terms of time, of the precision that the measurement of time brings to modern life.  That measurement, however, is but one of many ways to look at the very notion of time.  Across the history of measured time, there was no standard to be met.  Mechanical clocks do not make an appearance until late in the Middle Ages.  Once mechanical clocks appeared, each town’s clock tower measured local time only.  Whole discussions about time occur in the Talmud, the Jewish document that canonizes the oral law.  In a world without clocks but in a world where the precise time of prayer is important, how does one determine when the sun rises and sets?  How much light is enough to declare that the sun has risen or how much darkness determines when the sun has set?  If one’s liturgical being depends on the answers to these questions and there are no clocks to guide one’s actions, then there are no simple answers.

Precise measurement of time did not occur until railroads needed to create schedules.  People needed to know when the 6:15 train was going to arrive and would it arrive on time.  Railroad schedules could not rely on local time as a correct measure so the railroads lobbied to create time as a precise measure that would be uniform across their routes.

Precision measurement of time is a modern innovation, one that strips meaning from the very moment of existence, placing that moment on a scale of moments that appear to be grounded in the real.  I don’t find any great solace in that idea.  If one admits to the idea that existence is a continuum, then one can identify very little about this very moment, a moment so brief as to be infinitely short.  What appears as time, either present or past, is not much more than a trace, one that fades as it recedes from the now.  One can, on the other hand, only project into a future unknown.  Projection, on this view, is a waste of valuable resources that might otherwise be applied to living in this very moment.

The length of one’s life is unknown, but it is clear that when one is diagnosed with a disease that has the potential to end life, there is cause to reflect on how one has lived and thoughts turn to the intentionality of living life to the fullest.  The only way I can think of my ability to life the remainder of my life, no matter how long I have, is to focus on this very moment, the time I know I have, and just live.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Two Days Without a Watch and I Barely Miss It

  1. Hey! What`s the point of taking off your watch when you have a widget giving `Countdown to Surgery`???????????

  2. The watch is gone to remind me to live for the moment while the milestone is a reminder that I have an obligation to prepare as best I can for this surgery. The two are related but have substantially different purposes.

  3. Mmmmm – and they say men can`t multitask! Good luck to you.

  4. Thanks, gooseyanne! I never thought of it as multitasking…just living in this very moment and doing the next right thing.

  5. On the subject of multitasking, my husband George (who is very wise and never short of an answer) says that perhaps men have difficulty in multitasking but when they do – they do it properly! Keep focussed. Thinking of you.

Please Join the Conversation:

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

celebratequotes

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

sanslartigue

The silent camera

alesiablogs

A Blog About Ordinary Life Told In Extraordinary Fashion!

biljanazovkic

the beauty of words and colors

who is the God of heaven ? the jesus I never knew.

life is not a rehersal,so live it...if you cant be the poet, be the poem.

Hebrew Hutong

(Almost) Jewish in Beijing and California

NIKOtheOrb

A weirdo unleashed. . .riding the spiral to the end.

Screwy Lew's Views

An egotistical flight of fancy into the random ramblings of a semi-demented mind.

Rabbi Danny Burkeman Online

An English Rabbi in New York

Gooseyanne's Blog

The everday ramblings of Anne and her Goose

Exploring Torah and Genetics

A college student's exploration of the interplay between genetics and Torah.

FEC-THis

Life after a tango with death & its best friend cancer

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

