Surviving In This Very Moment…

My Personal Battle with Prostate Cancer … And Life!

The Day of Surgery Finally Arrives

As with all things, the passage of time brings new experiences. After waiting for about one month since I was diagnosed with prostate cancer the day of surgery finally arrives. I am making final preparations getting ready to leave for the hospital, about an hours drive from my house. Yesterday afternoon I was instructed to arrive at the hospital at 6:00 AM for a 7:30 AM procedure. In all the operation should take about 2 hours so I should arrive in my hospital room no later than Noon Chicago time.

I have just a few things to do before I go but I thought that one more post is in order. I am bringing my laptop to the hospital and expect to post from there (assuming that wi-fi is available). For now, I am wrapping up that which must be done and off I go.

I am actually a lot more nervous than I have ever been before any other procedure. I don’t quite know what is causing this stress because I don’t expect to wake up with much pain, certainly not the pain of joint replacement surgery. Perhaps, because I am entering the hospital feeling quite good. At this stage, cancer is not painful, it is not making me sick, it is just there. Unlike when my hips or knee was replaced I am in no pain at all. In addition, perhaps this anxiety is caused by the overall gravity of this procedure. After all, left untreated, the cancer will be the proximate cause of my death. Treating it leaves no guarantee thus making the import of this surgery greater than any other I have ever experienced.

For now, I plan on sitting quietly, meditating whenever I can up to and until the point where the anesthesiologist does his magic and knocks me out. I will continue to do that which must be done in between.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Day of Surgery Finally Arrives

  1. headteacherwannabe on said:

    I hope your surgery went well.

  2. Robert J. Teitelbaum on said:

    Sending to you much Light and Love
    Give me a call when you can. Robert

Please Join the Conversation:

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

celebratequotes

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

sanslartigue

The silent camera

alesiablogs

A Blog About Ordinary Life Told In Extraordinary Fashion!

biljanazovkic

the beauty of words and colors

who is the God of heaven ? the jesus I never knew.

life is not a rehersal,so live it...if you cant be the poet, be the poem.

Hebrew Hutong

(Almost) Jewish in Beijing and California

NIKOtheOrb

A weirdo unleashed. . .riding the spiral to the end.

Screwy Lew's Views

An egotistical flight of fancy into the random ramblings of a semi-demented mind.

Rabbi Danny Burkeman Online

An English Rabbi in New York

Gooseyanne's Blog

The everday ramblings of Anne and her Goose

Exploring Torah and Genetics

A college student's exploration of the interplay between genetics and Torah.

FEC-THis

Life after a tango with death & its best friend cancer

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

