Surviving In This Very Moment…

My Personal Battle with Prostate Cancer … And Life!

From the Hospital

Calm Waters Photo credit: Roger Passman

Calm Waters

Surgery was performed yesterday, early in the morning. By the time I was introduced to my room, it was right around 6:00 PM. It seems I couldn’t be released from recovery until they had a room cleaned for me to occupy. This added about a 3 hour extension in recovery, a wait I didn’t mind for two reasons. First, I don’t recall to much of my stay in recovery because I slept most of the time. More importantly, my urologist found me in a moment of lucidity in recovery and told me that surgery went well and that it appears that he got everything. That news caused my blood pressure to drop into a normal range. It is amazing how stress effects one’s life.

While the news is quite good, I am not yet out of the woods. For the next two years I will be asked to submit to CAT scans four times a year, the next two years I will be asked to submit to CAT scans twice a year and thereafter one per year. Somewhere in the back of my mind, prostate cancer will always be with me.

I will be spending a second night in the hospital mainly because I am experiencing extraordinary pains deep in my shoulders from the carbon dioxide gas they push into the abdomen to allow the robot to see what is going on. It only effects me when I am walking in the corridor and it takes quite some time to go away. But even this pain cannot take away from the news that I am currently cancer free.

I need some time to process all this, deal with the post-operative side-effects and add the outcome to my gratitude list. I couldn’t have asked for a better result.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “From the Hospital

  1. Yay!!!!!!!!! Sorry – not very eloquently put, but very exciting news! Congratulations – I am just thrilled for you! I hope the pain eases soon, and I wish you as speedy a recovery as humanly possible…. Xxx

  2. David Passman on said:

    Welcome back!

  3. Eloquence and drugs rarely mix. Thanks for all your good wishes.

  4. Oh gosh – I hope you didn’t think I meant you weren’t eloquent! You were, of course, as always…
    I meant me – my comment wasn’t eloquent in any way. And I can’t even use drugs as an excuse. Unless caffeine counts…
    xx

  5. Charlotte
    Remember that I am under the influence of these powerful drugs so I really have no idea which one of us was not so eloquent so no worries.
    I truly appreciate your comments as well as your good wishes. I am truly touched by you! Keep the conversation going.
    Roger

  6. Good news indeed! On to the more mundane side effects of such surgery. Hopefully all will go well with that too.

  7. Side effects…I already bought my first set of diapers to be worn after the catheter is removed.

  8. Hopefully this too shall “pass”… :-)

  9. headteacherwannabe on said:

    That is such good news- cancer is the silent bogeyman that seems to touch most people I know at the moment! I wish you a speedy recovery!

  10. So headteacherwannabe, I’ll take a speedy recovery or a slow one, it doesn’t much matter. What this life-changing event has had on my life and my overall practical approach to the lived-experience in existential time taught me is that living in this very moment is all I can expect. Thanks for your comments and your concern for me, a complete stranger. Surely your ethical compass works quite well.

Please Join the Conversation:

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

celebratequotes

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

sanslartigue

The silent camera

alesiablogs

A Blog About Ordinary Life Told In Extraordinary Fashion!

biljanazovkic

the beauty of words and colors

who is the God of heaven ? the jesus I never knew.

life is not a rehersal,so live it...if you cant be the poet, be the poem.

Hebrew Hutong

(Almost) Jewish in Beijing and California

NIKOtheOrb

A weirdo unleashed. . .riding the spiral to the end.

Screwy Lew's Views

An egotistical flight of fancy into the random ramblings of a semi-demented mind.

Rabbi Danny Burkeman Online

An English Rabbi in New York

Gooseyanne's Blog

The everday ramblings of Anne and her Goose

Exploring Torah and Genetics

A college student's exploration of the interplay between genetics and Torah.

FEC-THis

Life after a tango with death & its best friend cancer

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

