Surviving In This Very Moment…

My Personal Battle with Prostate Cancer … And Life!

One of Those Days

Happy Place

Happy Place (photo credit: Roger Passman)

Yesterday was one of those days that make life interesting. As I recover from surgery, I must be aware of some warning signs, things like a fever of 101 f or above, unusual pain or swelling at the incision sites and so on. Well yesterday, I was keeping my eye on my temperature. I was lethargic, running a temp hovering around 100 for much of the day. I didn’t want to get up from my chair to walk around as I should. I dozed off much of the day. At one point, I remarked to my wife that this is the worst day I can recall since my recovery from knee replacement (a mere 5 months ago).

Like all things, however, I realized that this was a temporary condition, that it will pass given enough time. So it did. I awoke this morning with a clear head and a normal temperature. My incision sites still provide a minor irritant, mostly itching as they heal, and a bit of pain when I change positions, nothing I wouldn’t consider part of the normal healing process.

I still have a sore throat, the result of intubation. Apparently the anesthesiologist had a difficult time getting the breathing tubes down my throat which resulted in sore vocal cords. Even that is getting better.

Because of the fever, however, each of these seemed to multiply yesterday into a day I wanted to feel sorry for myself. As I kept repeating the mantra, “This too shall pass,” I was able to let go of the aches and pains as I moved through the day. I am happy to report that I am back feeling as well as I could expect to feel on the sixth day post surgery and for that I am grateful.

Single Post Navigation

Please Join the Conversation:

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

celebratequotes

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

sanslartigue

The silent camera

alesiablogs

A Blog About Ordinary Life Told In Extraordinary Fashion!

biljanazovkic

the beauty of words and colors

who is the God of heaven ? the jesus I never knew.

life is not a rehersal,so live it...if you cant be the poet, be the poem.

Hebrew Hutong

(Almost) Jewish in Beijing and California

NIKOtheOrb

A weirdo unleashed. . .riding the spiral to the end.

Screwy Lew's Views

An egotistical flight of fancy into the random ramblings of a semi-demented mind.

Rabbi Danny Burkeman Online

An English Rabbi in New York

Gooseyanne's Blog

The everday ramblings of Anne and her Goose

Exploring Torah and Genetics

A college student's exploration of the interplay between genetics and Torah.

FEC-THis

Life after a tango with death & its best friend cancer

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

