Surviving In This Very Moment…

My Personal Battle with Prostate Cancer … And Life!

Beyond My Wildest Dreams

Beyond My Wildest Dreams

Beyond My Wildest Dreams

In October of this year, right after I was diagnosed with prostate cancer, I started this blog as an exercise in thinking about life and my struggle with this potentially deadly disease. I was (and still am) writing for myself yet I am also writing with the idea that perhaps, just perhaps, by my writing I will be available for anyone struggling as I am with their own disease. As of this morning I have recorded over 1,500 visitors to this site; something I never expected or anticipated. Sure, I had a boost in visitors from WordPress when the blog was selected for their Freshly Pressed page and I am grateful for that but it doesn’t explain the fact that so many others follow, comment or like this blog. It provides energy for me to continue to be present for readers no matter what their struggle for as long as I can.

Regular readers may have noticed that I am now using a single graphic, a stylized portrait of me painted on a brick wall. I have a particular fondness for functionalist imagery, stripped to its bare bones while still representing something in the world. I tag the image with the title of the post and let it be.

On another note, as I am writing this I am in some significant pain. Four months prior to my cancer diagnosis I had a total knee replacement in my left knee. I regained almost complete mobility in the knee through hard work and physical therapy. Since my prostatectomy I have been unable to do the exercises that are necessary to keep the knee functional due to the potential strain and weight limitations for lifting resulting on both stiffness and pain in the knee. I am reasonably certain the problem is caused by fluid on the knee but I can’t be sure until I see my orthopedic surgeon on the 4th of January. Who would have ever thought that a side effect of radical prostatectomy surgery would impact my knee?

Finally, on this day after Christmas, I certainly hope everyone had a joyous and restful holiday. While I don’t celebrate Christmas myself, remember I am a Jewish atheist, and I am bothered by the constant commercial clatter of the holiday that begins the day after Halloween and seems endless, I am a champion of diversity and acceptance of the other person, no matter what his or her beliefs are. Would that we could all be like that! Acceptance is the key to serenity if all you do is accept your personal set of circumstances. On a broader scale, acceptance of the other is the more powerful path to peace, love and understanding even when the rest of the world is falling apart around you.

I thank each and every one of my readers for your interest in this attempt to share with you some of my stories of recovery. I wish each one a very Happy New Year. So glad the Mayans were wrong.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Beyond My Wildest Dreams

  1. Acceptance of folks is truly a wise way to live one’s life. Thanks for your insights Alesia

  2. Mary Jane Passman on said:

    Retirement is an unexpected time for reflection, as is the transition from years of full-time activity to the liberation of choice. The transition from fierce independence to the company of (no-longer) strangers, in an ‘independent living’ senior building adds other layers. And then there is you – adding more layers, filtered through the knowledge that we are family, yet veritable strangers. Your openness and willingness to share opens doors to thoughts that might have never surfaced. For which, thanks. Best wishes for the new year to you and yours.

  3. Back at’cha Mary Jane. I truly appreciated your comment. Thanks.

Please Join the Conversation:

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

celebratequotes

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

sanslartigue

The silent camera

alesiablogs

A Blog About Ordinary Life Told In Extraordinary Fashion!

biljanazovkic

the beauty of words and colors

who is the God of heaven ? the jesus I never knew.

life is not a rehersal,so live it...if you cant be the poet, be the poem.

Hebrew Hutong

(Almost) Jewish in Beijing and California

NIKOtheOrb

A weirdo unleashed. . .riding the spiral to the end.

Screwy Lew's Views

An egotistical flight of fancy into the random ramblings of a semi-demented mind.

Rabbi Danny Burkeman Online

An English Rabbi in New York

Gooseyanne's Blog

The everday ramblings of Anne and her Goose

Exploring Torah and Genetics

A college student's exploration of the interplay between genetics and Torah.

FEC-THis

Life after a tango with death & its best friend cancer

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

