Surviving In This Very Moment…

My Personal Battle with Prostate Cancer … And Life!

Off to the Doctor

Off to the Doctor

Off to the Doctor

Today I have my post-surgical check and I say goodbye to my urologist (he is moving on and will hook me up with one of his partners) but the day is bittersweet. I have so many questions about this recovery and the two side effects that leave me helpless and I will have to break in a new urologist along the way. While my urologist will answer my questions he will not be the one to treat the issues; he will be gone, replaced by a doctor I don’t know who potentially will treat the issues and side effects that present themselves.

Trust is the issue here. Over the years I have built up a trust with my doctor that is hard to set aside. His advice has always been sound and it has always been provided with a smile and care. Unlike most surgeons, his first course of action is to treat medically leaving the knife as a last resort. He always took the time to explain the options, the pros and cons of each, make suggestions but he left the final decision to me. His demeanor always took on the posture of a caring physician first and a surgeon second. Not only that, I genuinely like him. So where does that leave me?

A new urologist, no matter how well trained or capable he might be, will present himself to me without the advantage of trust. He will have to build that trust a visit at a time. That is no easy task, especially after so good a relationship as I have with the present one.

My task in all this is to remain open. In this case I am the other calling to the new urologist to take charge, to be available, to care for my welfare without reservation (I cannot say without reciprocation because he is paid a handsome fee to care for me). It is funny how roles switch from self to other depending on circumstances. While my call is a call for care, a call that says I trust you, it is also a call of caution because, while I want to trust, I cannot until it is earned.

This day I confront the disquiet of change. What I do know is that life will go on because the crux of this very moment is change.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Off to the Doctor

  1. Hello Roger, I nominated you for a blogging award. I know we all have different thoughts on these things but your writing is inspirational and I thank you for sharing it. Details can be found here http://wp.me/p2MIsj-pC

  2. Thank you Tracy. I am a firm advocate of diversity of thought. What works for me may not work for you but if we share in a spirit of honesty then we might just learn a thing or two from each other. I think that is the value of learning to live in this very moment, open to the other because I accept the fundamental ethical obligation of providing for the welfare of the other without reservation or expectation of reciprocation. I look forward to reading more of your blog and of engaging in a conversation along the way.

  3. I think we have some common ground in thoughts and ethical beliefs. For me life has always been about learning, absorbing, seeing beauty in the diversity of nature including ourselves as part of the ebb and flow of life on Earth. I could live a thousand lives and still not have time to explore all there is to learn or fully appreciate just how diverse we really are. So I’m trying my best in this life for however long it is in the hope that I become a better person for it. I look forward to engaging with you and learning together.

  4. I look forward to the conversation!

Please Join the Conversation:

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

celebratequotes

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

sanslartigue

The silent camera

alesiablogs

A Blog About Ordinary Life Told In Extraordinary Fashion!

biljanazovkic

the beauty of words and colors

who is the God of heaven ? the jesus I never knew.

life is not a rehersal,so live it...if you cant be the poet, be the poem.

Hebrew Hutong

(Almost) Jewish in Beijing and California

NIKOtheOrb

A weirdo unleashed. . .riding the spiral to the end.

Screwy Lew's Views

An egotistical flight of fancy into the random ramblings of a semi-demented mind.

Rabbi Danny Burkeman Online

An English Rabbi in New York

Gooseyanne's Blog

The everday ramblings of Anne and her Goose

Exploring Torah and Genetics

A college student's exploration of the interplay between genetics and Torah.

FEC-THis

Life after a tango with death & its best friend cancer

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

